It was with great pleasure that the team at the newly refurbished Cholmondeley Arms welcomed The Marquess and Marchioness of Cholmondeley to the Cholmondeley Arms to raise a glass at the ‘official’ opening, after the completion of its major refurbishment.
As part of the opening celebrations Lord Cholmondeley took his position behind the bar and removed the ceremonial ‘old school tie’ from the real ale pumps and served a half of Cholmondeley Best, brewed exclusively for the pub by Weetwood Brewery in Tarporley.
The Cholmondeley Arms has won many accolades over the years, building a great reputation for freshly cooked food. Its menu is quintessentially English and includes such flavoursome favourites as ‘the Traditional Pub sharing plate’, the ‘Hand crafted Stalkers Venison pie’ or indeed ‘Devilled Kidneys on toast’.
The famous pub has been wonderfully restored by Cheshire Pub entrepreneurs Tim Bird and Mary Mclaughlin who also operate the award winning Bulls Head in Mobberley.
Set in beautiful Cheshire countryside adjacent to Cholmondeley Castle, the Cholmondeley Arms is probably one of England’s most unique pubs. It sits inside a former Victorian village schoolhouse on Lord Cholmondeley’s estate. Dating back to 1862 the school was converted in 1988 and it was the first public house for over a century!
The character of the new Cholmondeley Arms is warm and inviting with large mirrors and church candles, fresh flowers, open fire places and interesting ‘old school’ furniture such as the blackboards featuring lunchtime specials. The pub also has six en-suite bedrooms situated in the ‘Headmaster’s House’ opposite.
Famous too for offering over forty different gins, local ales brewed within a thirty mile radius of the pub and its malts and ports, the ‘new’ Cholmondeley Arms is truly a real pub – ‘Local and Proud’.
“It is very exciting to see the Cholmondeley Arms begin a new era”, said Lord Cholmondeley “and we are thrilled with the refurbishment carried out by Tim, Mary and their excellent team”.