Cholmondeley Arms History
Set in beautiful Cheshire countryside adjacent to Cholmondeley Castle, the Cholmondeley Arms is probably one of England’s most unique pubs. It sits inside a former Victorian village schoolhouse on Lord Cholmondeley’s estate. Dating back to 1862 the school was converted in 1988 and it was the first public house on the estate for over a century!
The old schoolhouse was originally converted into a village pub by Julian and Ginny Harrison and Guy and Carolyn Ross-Lowe. The pub still maintains many of its original features and creates a charming and characterful place to visit.
The Cholmondeley Arms has won many accolades over the years, building a great reputation for freshly cooked, locally sourced food. Its menu is quintessentially English and includes such truly flavoursome favourites as ‘Our Traditional Pub Plate to share’, ‘Devilled Kidneys on toast’ or for your main meal the ‘Hand crafted Steak and Kidney pie’ perhaps followed by Andy’s Sticky Toffee Pudding!!!
The pub has been acquired and wonderfully restored in 2011 by Cheshire Pub entrepreneurs Tim Bird and Mary Mclaughlin (who also operate, the award winning, Bulls Head in Mobberley, which opened in May 2010).
The décor of the new Cholmondeley Arms is warm and inviting with large mirrors and church candles, fresh flowers, open fire places and interesting ‘old school’ furniture such as the blackboards featuring forthcoming events. The pub also has six en-suite bedrooms situated in the ‘Headmasters House’ opposite.
Famous too for offering well over 300 different Gins, local ales brewed within a thirty mile radius of the pub and it’s Malts and Ports, the Cholmondeley Arms is truly a real pub ‘Local and Proud’, popular with suits, Barbour’s and a smattering of farmers!!